Layouts, Scrapbooking

Evolution of a Sock-Double Page Layout

Greetings!

How many hobbies do you have?  I have a ton!  I love the fiber and paper world.  I find that several scrappers also knit…that is what this layout is about.  I desperately wanted to be a sock knitter.  BY. ANY. MEANS.NECESSARY.  I learned to knit from You-Tube and this awesome DVD.  I got the bug for socks..can’t be that hard….right.  I got some worsted yarn and a pattern and I was off.  I finished the sock and was like..well it sorta looks like a sock but for a Cave Man!  Ack back to the needles. I tried a second sock the heel was better but this wearer would need to be into Chinese foot binding.  I was there.  The point where you realize you need help.  I took a sock knitting class with the fantastic Lisa, owner of SIFU Design Studio.  Now I am a #SockKnitter!

1-IMG_6263

 

For this layout I actually used the same cardstock but I turned one upside down so that they were not identical.  I purchased this cardstock and the Scrapbook expo last year and held on to it until I found the best story to pair with it.  I used my silhouette to cut out a honeycomb background  TIP: use the negative and positive in your layouts. I needed to make this have a color pop so I added yellow into the negative on the page.

1-IMG_6258

I wanted to pull the design from the paper so and it worked and I had lots of room for journaling.

1-IMG_6255

I also didn’t want to add because I knew I had a serious story to tell so I added a few layers and embellishments.

1-IMG_6260

1-IMG_6259

1-IMG_6262

1-IMG_6256

1-IMG_6257

I ran the glassine bag through my embossing folder and BAM…I loved it!

Supplies:  Silhouette file yarn and needles, KBS Background Basics, Heidi Swapp InstaFrame, Glassine Bags(Etsy).

P.S. I have a new blog related to other craftiness HERE.

Toodles Emonie

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

