Scrapbooking

Cropping and Lessons Learned

Hello Peeps!

Today is beautiful here in the Windy City, full of sunshine and breezy-ness. I had to run a few errands but wanted to share with you my layout from last night at Scrapmania.

This layout is called The Haul.  Its a picture of my first trip ever to an Anchivers in Memphis Tennessee.  Ugh..I am not totally satisfied with it but I don’t hate it….It doesn’t look like any of the layouts I like but its getting better.   ….its dark.  I have come to realize most of the layouts I like are bright and full of vibrant accents.  Hmm…what is it that I don’t ike……its the photos!  They  are dark, too dark!  The paper is a weird  shape and the red is a strange color red.  What do I like?????I do like the twine border and I did just order some higher quality thicker twine.  Can’t wait to work with it.  I also need to bring more layering papers  and use decorative edges.

Lessons learned

1.  Take lighter photos or make them black and white possibly-tip from Studio Calico post.

2.  Plan Ahead….Better- I actually thought I was really prepared this time..well not so much.  I should have had more layering paper.  Remember if I don’t have a design I like I can create with stamps. This leads me to believe that I am going to have to really think my about my paper choices.  Kinda like I would for Copics be sure to get coordinating papers.

3.  Think soft embellishments-crochet flowers, different textures ribbons, larger ribbon, fiber embellishments.

4.  Remember the Alamo..focus!  Remember the edges, give reason and dimension to highlight my photos.

I am trying real hard to not buy the criciut cartridge elegant edges….Grrr. Haven’t had nuch luck finding SVG files for edges and borders. Have any ideas. Although the 12 x 12 surface area is intimadating I am going to continue to work at it!

Toodles for now!

P.S.

TJMAXX and MARSHALLS currently, as I type this post, has EK Success Punches for $3.99 , Martha Stewart Punches fo $5.99, American Craft Ribbon for $9.99 !!!!!  I was there.  Sorry(she-devil grin)

Standard

Leave a Reply

