Cardmaking, Scrapbooking

Masked Cape Crusader

Good Day Peeps! I had a busy but productive weekend, so I will get right to it.

I ate at Chick fil a……Twice

Saw Batman The Dark Night Rises..and yes everytime someone got out of their seat my eye was on them like Saruman from Lord of the Rings!

Stopped by Joann Fabric to pick up some muslin to line my skirt and to get my sale items for 65% off…who can pass up EK success punches at $10.00 ….not me.

and……..drum roll  I made 8 cards…wooh!

Lets talk about Masks, here are 4 that I have from Studio Calico.

For the life of me I couldn’t figure out how to use them.

This weekend I was determined to learn darnit!  Here we go…..

First Techinque =Embossing 

Disclaminer: I have a Sizzix Bigshot ONLY, I do not know the techniques for the other cutters.

Tools Used for this project

Big Shot

Multipurpose Platform

2 Standard Cutting Plates

A Shim* I used a USPS priority flat rate envelope.  You can also use a really Keira Knightly like thin mouse pad :).  When using a  manual die cutter you need to stack your tools to get a good impression, like a sandwich.

Sandwich Fail

Here is the Ampersand Sign without a good sandwich. The sandwich you pick  up and all the insides fall on you lap ….rolling my eyes…..I just hate that!

Here is the sandwich needed for this project:

Bottom Slice of Bread=Multi purpose Platform

Lettuce=(1) Standard Cutting Plate

Tomato=Shim

Cheese=Cardstock I used  PaperTrey Ink Cardstock to get the best impression

Turkey­=Mask

Top Slice of Bread=(1) remaining standard cutting plate

Pass it through your Sizzix Big Shot and you get a really nice impression.

Second Technique Ink Sprays

I own a few brands of Ink Sprays.  In this example I used Rangers Dylusions and Studio Calico Mr. Hueys mists.

Spray Ink Fails.  Ok if this was suppose to be in Braille it may have worked.

Overprayed can’t see image. I sprayed and decided to spray over it again so it was not so contrasting.  Lesson learned you do not have to spray so much a light mists will do.

Not crisp..bled I suggest using repositionable adhesive to hold mask down so you get a perfect image.

Before:

After:

Card Supplies- Used (Studio Calico Monthly Kits)

CardStock-Papertey Ink

October Afternoon Flyers

American Craft Thickers

Sew Fancy Bakers Twine-not quality twine…want to try The Twinery or Divine Twine

Toodles!

Standard

Leave a Reply

